Loading color scheme

CyberWatch West - A History

CyberWatch West (CWW) was created in 2011 when Mt. San Antonio College (Mt. SAC) received a grant for a regional center of excellence. Mt. SAC was the lead institution of a consortium that included five core educational partners: California State Polytechnic University, Pomona, California State Universities at Dominguez Hills and San Bernardino, and Whatcom Community College (WA).

In 2013 Whatcom Community College (WCC) in Bellingham, Washington became the lead institution. WCC continues to lead the organization along with educational partners: Eastern New Mexico University - Ruidoso,California State University, San Bernardino (CSUSB).

The overarching goal of CyberWatch West has always been to increase the quantity and quality of the cybersecurity workforce in the United States. The original focus was on California and the Pacific Northwest but grew to include 14 western US states. Our reach gradually grew to expand to the entire nation in 2018 when we received NSF funding to become a national resource center. Our goals are being accomplished through innovative curriculum development; building an online community for faculty professional growth and mentoring; creating a developmental pathway of competitions that facilitate growth of students’ cybersecurity skills; and facilitating processes at the state and national level conducive to development of cybersecurity programs.

The change in our focus from a regional center to a national resource center spurred us to change our name that better fits our larger reach. The National Cybersecurity Training & Education Center (NCyTE) is continuing our successes on a national level.

In 2013 CWW membership had 33 educational members. As of August 2021 we have over 300 educational members and growing. We have representation from 42 states and Puerto Rico and are working to increase this number.

We offer cybersecurity curricula for k-12, and college-level to help educators develop courses.